My three days in Kolkata.

Kolkata, India–the city made popular by the late Saint Theresa was my second layover destination. I was so excited when I checked the picture of the hotel that we would be staying. It looked so mighty grand and posh with a large pool that I already imagined of swimming in with new bikinis. When we got there, the whole crew were impressed indeed. Especially with the bathroom that was as big as the entire room in my hotel accomodation in Dusseldorf. But once you get outside, the picture was shocking. How could a hotel as posh as Hotel Regency Kolkata exist in a disturbingly poor community? People lived like rats in the slums surrounding the hotel. There were garbage everywhere. The place smelled like toilets. People spit everywhere. Not to mention the ubiquitous crows that reminded me of something like death, mourning, or unbearable depression.

But of course, I could not let the third world reality to ruin my stay. I explored the city by myself (since nobody showed up at the lobby on the supposed time of meeting). Going out and about alone in foreign city would never scare. It would even add to the adventure. =)

By the time I went to Victoria Memorial Building, a local who spoke fluent english volunteered to show me around the city. I attempted more than five times to tell him that I prefer to go around on my own but he was being persistent. He kept on walking beside me even after I walked for 20 minutes. He further insisted that we take a cab since Mother Theresa’s house was far away. It was risky of me to join him in the cab, but since the cabs in Kolkata had windows open, I jumped in. I could always scream whenever I would be in trouble, I thought. =) Throughout the whole ride he was sitting as close as he could get next to me and was trying to touch my bare legs. It was not exactly part of the adventure that I was looking for. But lucky enough, I was able to return to the hotel in one piece. Hehehehe.

dsc02100.jpg

the Hyatt Regency

dsc02109.jpg

dsc02110.jpg

the reception desk

dsc02115.jpg

lovely souvenirs at the hotel botique

dsc02181.jpg

I always judge the hotel by the niceness of its toilet.

dsc02124.jpg

dsc02130.jpg

my stupid toilet pictures. hihihi. i took these by myself. believe me, I have really long arms.

dsc02118.jpg

dsc02119.jpg

dsc02148-copy.jpg

dsc02156-copy.jpg

dsc02160-copy-copy.jpg

dsc02162.jpg

dsc02165.jpg

dsc02172-copy.jpg

dsc02179.jpg

 dsc02060.jpg

Indian sunset and the ubiquitous crows outside my window

dsc02069.jpg

a crow having a drink outside the hotel gates

dsc02074.jpg

an Indian mother and child in a very cute outfit! =)

dsc02077.jpg

this is part of the hotel gates–with vandals and barb wires!!!

dsc02079.jpg

a local woman on a bike

dsc02083.jpg

this is fronting the hotel

dsc02084.jpg

slums very nearby

dsc02085.jpg

He was so thrilled when I took his/her picture.

dsc02091.jpg

a goat scavenging in the garbage dump/toilet

dsc02096.jpg

they found a home in the sidewalk

dsc02097.jpg

the rickshaw. they also have the hand rickshaw in which case the driver mounts the whole load on his shoulders and carries the whole thing on foot.

 dsc02187.jpg

i am back to the hotel, at last.

dsc02191.jpg

back to my comfort zone…

toilet1.jpg

my lovely bathroom…

dsc02228.jpg

…and my tea and coffee. =)

Please don’t judge me because I felt relieved.

dsc02209.jpg

dinner with friends (Japanese and Lebanese)

dsc02210.jpg

Australian

dsc02212.jpg

that’s an 80-year old lobster right there

dsc02224.jpg

the chefs at work

dsc02240.jpg

on my own now

 dsc02239.jpg

dsc02241.jpg

the highest-end mall in Kolkata, the City Centre Mall

dsc02245.jpg

dsc02251.jpg

time to go.

dsc02259.jpg

he was such a nice driver he gave me peanuts and cadies.

P.S. Whatever the meter reads, you always have to pay twice of it. The driver is not trying dope you. It is just the way it is.

dsc02262.jpg

the messy lines for trains

dsc02265.jpg

a local woman in a traditional costume

dsc02267.jpg

the Victoria Memorial Building

Entrance fee if one wants to go inside the building is only 140 rupees. but personally, there is really nothing to see inside. it is preferable to take the garden entrance ticket for only 30 rupees.

dsc02271.jpg

dsc02272.jpg

dsc02278.jpg

chatting up with a local woman

dsc02289.jpg

a number of couples getting very intimate right out in the open

dsc02291.jpg

friends at the lover’s park. hmm…i don’t wanna comment. =)

dsc02295.jpg

an eye-catcher garbage bin

dsc02298.jpg

my indian outfit straight from the store

dsc02296.jpg

this gorgeous lady bug too!

dsc02306.jpg

horse-carriage ride for only 90 rupees

dsc02309.jpg

dsc02312.jpg

horseback riding for 50 rupees. my first time. i was scared to death trying to stay on top of the horse while a group of young men playing frisbees were shouting at me, asking a lot of questions, and welcoming me to India.

dsc02315.jpg

Indian street food

dsc02317.jpg

goats grazing by the plaza??? weird. =)

dsc02321.jpg

Saint Peter’s Church. It was closed so I could only take picture from the outside.

dsc02323.jpg

school children. they were all staring at me as if I was an alien or a celebrity or something. It was either my skin color or that I simply look funny.

dsc02327.jpg

a man washing his hair at the canal

dsc02328.jpg

Indian police car

Dubai police ride in BMWs.

market.jpg

Off to the market for some tattoo.

dsc02335.jpg

my tour guide’s ass

dsc02337.jpg

crows everywhere

dsc02343.jpg

A Hindu temple that was also closed to visitors.

dsc02347.jpg

a group of kids waving and smiling at me

dsc02355.jpg

and I thought I would never experience traffic jam that is worse than in Manila.

dsc02366.jpg

The tomb of Mother Theresa

I was humbled by the simplicity of her grave.

dsc02374.jpg

An extra friendly kid outside the orphanage who successfully coaxed me into by buying him the largest can of milk from a nearby store, which I am pretty sure, they would resell to the store owner at a much lower price. He asked me to buy for some more food. Unfortunately for him, I am always wiser the second time around.

dsc02373.jpg

the back of Mother Theresa’s house

dsc02378.jpg

Mother Theresa souvenirs

dsc02381.jpg

the train used the same road with the cars, bikes, buses, and horses.

dsc02382.jpg

Emirates Airline ad. =)

dsc02383.jpg

My ride back to the hotel. He’s absolutely one tired driver.

6 thoughts on “My three days in Kolkata.

  1. Nice to see you had been to and liked the city that happens to be my birthplace. Its true all cities offer a mixture of sweet and naughty events to spice up your experience of the place. It was pleasure to have you as a visitor to our city.

    I just happened to read this blog and though I am someone whom you have never met I thank you for sharing your experience about this city with the world through the internet.

    Thanks and welcome back.
    ……regards

    ……Udayan

Leave a Reply

