Brand XX versus Brand XY

I came across an interesting poem in a male friend’s blog. It was not originally his but it was a classic summary that tries to explain briefly how far is planet Venus from planet Mars…especially when it comes down to l.o.v.e.

pavlov.jpg

famous experiment of Dr. Pavlov

WOMAN’S LOVE POEM

Before I lay me down to sleep,I pray for a man who’s not a creep,One who’s handsome, smart and strong.One who loves to listen long,One who thinks before he speaks,One who’ll call, not wait for weeks.I pray he’s gainfully employed,

When I spend his cash, won’t be annoyed.

Pulls out my chair and opens my door,

Massages my back and begs to do more.

Oh! Send me a man who’ll make love to my mind,

Knows what to answer to “how big is my behind?”

I pray that this man will love me to no end,

And always be my very best friend.

MAN’S LOVE POEM

I pray for a deaf-mute nymphomaniac withhuge boobs who owns a bar on a golf courseand loves to send me fishing and hunting.This doesn’t rhyme and I don’t give a shit.

“The truth is, men are women are equally sexual. The former is simply less discreet than the latter when it comes to sex.” Was my reply to his blog. That was what I thought until yesterday when I went back to London. As I browsed through the magazines in a store, I found the latest issue of FHM (January 2008). I was totally surprised that I did not find even a single word of sex on the magazine cover! It was supposed to be a sex magazine for men! Its target market are horny men looking for sexually stimulating images, sex stories, sex tips and the like. Instead, other than the picture of a female in a sexy outfit, the magazine talks mostly about gadgets, men fashion, even science and sports!

dsc03847.jpg

On the otherhand, a latest issue of Cosmopolitan magazine had two sex-related topics on the cover, namely, Drive him wild! (seduction masterclass- have ANY man at your mercy) and (caught in the act) SEX confessions.

dsc03873.jpg

The question is–with all these tv shows, movies, books and paper articles emphasizing women sexuality, has the woman become the new man? My second question –is it a good thing that at this point in time, it seems okay that women talk about sex like men and women fuck like men? And for my even bigger question–when women do talk about sex and fuck like men, does the seemingly judgmental-like-usual society still look at them as respectable, intelligent, and civilized women as they do with men?

Basing on my keen observation, the answer is a BIG no. When Pamela Anderson fucked around with a lot of men, women call her bitch and men treat her like one. When THE Hugh Hefner fucked around with hundreds of women, women adore him, men envy him, plus he makes loads of money out of it. Ironic? I call it the twisted, undeserved privilege for having a penis.

Though I would never see myself fucking like men in the near or distant future (it is a personal choice, not a judgment), I still think it would be nicer when the time comes that respect for a woman would not be inversely proportional to the degree of her sexual promiscuity. What makes a woman should always be based on the sharpness of her brains and the pureness of her heart, and NEVER on the exclusivity of her cu*t. This is no longer about equal rights in the bedroom. This time, it is about the more important thing which is respect.

Leave a Reply

