Just another day at the beach.

FEBRUARY 15, 2013

FLIC EN FLAC BEACH, MAURITIUS.

I could not stop gushing during this layover. First of all, we stayed at this absolutely lovely hotel by the port view at Port Louis. It is called Labourdonnais and inspired by the glamorous era of the colonial times. We all got this big rooms with a balcony that opened up to an unlimited view of the ocean that splashed just below us. All of the bed linens were monogrammed. I haven’t had that for the longest time. In fact, almost everything in the room has that Labourdonnais logo, to the point of being tacky. But, well, I am liking it. Even the bathtub waterfaucet knob wears the logo.

It got the whole crew so excited that everyone came down for a drink and dinner. I swear the pianist had magical hands and just continuously played the classics while this nightingale of a woman sang French love songs. The pair were so perfect for each other that I did not mind my lackluster dinner. As long as they keep my wine served well-chilled, my evening is perfect until I doze off in my bed.

My sweet and cozy bed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These should be a standard to every hotel room with a bathtub!

These should be a standard to every hotel room with a bathtub!

From the top.

From the top.

These balconies reminded me of lamp posts-lit avenues.

These balconies reminded me of lamp posts-lit avenues.

From the bottom.

From the bottom.

I'm ready for my wine. :)

I’m ready for my wine. šŸ™‚

THE DAY AFTER

Waking up to this view.

Waking up to this view.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The port of Port Louis. Port Louis is the capital of Mauritius.

The port of Port Louis. Port Louis is the capital of Mauritius.

The next day, I woke up early, especifically to have a long and slow breakfast buffet. The moment I smelled the ocean and coffee, I knew it was going to be a good day. My waiter spoke French, pulled my chair, unfolded my table napkin and even pressed my coffee in front of me. The amazing piano maestro was back too. I even saw a couple of birds flying in to the room and trying to get some crumbs from the bread and pastry table. It was like a fairytale, it was almost ridiculous. Hahah!

This is the bar, in the morning.

This is the bar, in the morning.

WE ARE READY FOR THE BEACH!

We rented a van through the concierge. We paid around 2,500 Mauritian rupees for the round trip.

We rented a van through the concierge. We paid around 2,500 Mauritian rupees for the round trip. From the waterfront, the Flic en Flac beach, which is a public beach, is roughly 40 minutes away by car.

The road trip has begun.

The road trip has begun.

HERE WE ARE. Flic en Flac is Dutch for flat and plain land. Aside from the crushed coral bits that hurt your feet in the water, Flic en Flac could be the best public beach that I had been to. The water was crystal clear, the beach was clean and the beach goers were free from the usual noisy crowd and annoying vendors that frequent public beaches.

The camp site at Flic en Flac.

The camp site at Flic en Flac.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The guardians of the sea. These pine trees give more shade than coconut trees.

The guardians of the sea. These pine trees give more shade than coconut trees.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pigeons hunting for pine tree nuts.

Pigeons hunting for pine tree nuts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There was supposed to be a rainstorm, but I guess not. The heavens heard I was coming. :)

There was supposed to be a rainstorm, but I guess not. The heavens heard I was coming. šŸ™‚

That's my Czech girl to the left.

That’s my Czech girl to the left.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My beach babe. This book had been around the world already.

My beach babe. This book had been around the world already. His final journey stopped in London.

There is never a better time for coconuts.

There is never a better time for coconuts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sweat, sand and sun in my face. I could die happy.

Sweat, sand and sun in my face. I could die happy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My first time to fish!

My first time to fish!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The first catch of the day.

The first catch of the day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hitting the beach again with the most adorable local boy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

40 MINUTES BEFORE LEAVING THIS PIECE OF PARADISE.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Found a bird's nest above my head.

Found a bird’s nest above my head.

Happy campers, time to go.

Happy campers, time to go.

Back to the sugarcane fields. Sugarcane is Mauritius' major export.

Back to the sugarcane fields. Sugarcane is Mauritius’ major export.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

THEN I FOUND MY SON’S NAME ON A ROAD SIGN. Wherever I am, you are with me forever.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

WHEN IN MAURITIUS, LEAVING NOTHING BUT FOOTPRINTS. TAKE NOTHING BUT SUNBURN. šŸ˜‰

WP_20130217_004

Leave a Reply

